Jarvis Cocker Announces JARV IS single and album release date

JARV IS is a group project led by Jarvis Cocker. He is backed by  Serafina Steer (harp, keyboards, vocals), Emma Smith(violin, guitar vocals), Andrew McKinney (bass, vocals), Jason Buckle (synthesiser & electronic treatments) & Adam Betts (drums, percussion, vocals).

Today they announce their debut album ‘Beyond The Pale’ and new single ‘House Music All Night Long’. A record formed playing a show at the Sigur Ros “Norður og Niður” festival in Iceland at the very end of 2017. The band had an aim for collaborating with their crowds on improvised numbers. This then led to a tour and these live shows were recorded as they travelled. The idea coming from Geoff Barrow (Portishead, Beak), who after seeing them play Desert Daze Festival suggested they base an album around the live recordings.

Released May 1st 2020 on Rough Trade Records, this is the first original music in a decade from Cocker and definitely not one to miss.

The release is led by a new debut single (‘House Music All Night Long’), which can be heard here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75wFi5IizQc.

Overdubs & vocals were added at Narcissus Studios in Neasden, London. Post-production work took place at Jason Buckle’s Place du Big Boss studio in Raynes Park, London. The album was mixed by Craig Silvey at Toast Studios in West London.

The first single from the album “Must I Evolve?” was released in May 2019 & appeared in many “Top 10 Tracks of the Year” lists.

More Stories
Single Review: The 1975 – Jesus Christ 2005 God Bless America
You don't have permission to register