fbpx

ANNOUNCEMENT: BLACK COUNTRY, NEW ROAD ANNOUNCE DEBUT ALBUM ‘FOR THE FIRST TIME’ AND NEW SINGLE

I feel like shit this week. I am bunged up with a cold. I am bed bound. I have muted my phone and given up on the world and the news. BUT, Black Country, New Road have announced their debut album so I’ve cut the cord. This is an event I have been in a boyish fanatic about for over a year, since catching the group play an intimate show to 60 people and being spellbound. When there wasn’t some idiot talking through the songs, there was the canvas for one of England’s greatest treasures of a band, playing sketches of songs that have got more and more complete upon each time viewing them live. To the point where i’d easily put them in the top 2 bands in the UK right now. And really you should too. 

‘Science Fair’ is one of these tracks. An anxiety ridden piece that spends its duration bottling up to a crescendo breakdown. The instrumental is cut and paste. One minute minimal, putting a reflection on the lyrics, the next eccentric and no wave sax/synth driven. I can’t help but feel sincere excitement for these guys. The track is paired with a music video directed by Bart Price. He describes the videos themes as below:

“When developing the music video for ‘Science Fair’, I was thinking about fictitious worlds that we visit through our screens, such as the American high school. Despite our lack of direct experience, these worlds become a universal means of communicating about and understanding things like what it means to grow up, or what it means to be in a friendship group, or to be in love. I wanted to create such a world around Black Country, New Road, placing their music at the heart of a small American town, that in a sense we’ve all been to and lived in.”

In addition to the new track, the band have announced the release of their debut album ‘For The First Time’ on Ninja Tune Records. Recorded with Andy Savours and set for release for February 2021. Though come on guys, one gripe here. The album is 6 tracks in length, and includes re-interpretations of the previously released tracks ‘Athens France’ and ‘Sunglasses’. While this is exciting, I am a little mithered about the fact BCNR have so many stellar live tracks that are being sacrificed. Be sure to catch the bootleg performances of their gigs on youtube.

‘For the first time’ will be available on Limited Edition White LP [with exclusive negative sleeve], Black LP, CD, as well as Cassette (BC,NR store only). There will also be a limited number of hand stamped, numbered & signed Test Pressings available from the BC,NR store.

Pre-order the album HERE.

The band play the following dates across Europe in support of the album:

Black Country, New Road headline tour dates 2021

Fri 20 Nov 2020 – Islington Assembly Hall, London

Sat 21 Nov 2020 – Islington Assembly Hall, London

Mon 18 Jan 2021 – Rotonde, Brussels, Belgium

Tue 19 Jan 2021 – Bumann & Sohn, Cologne, Germany

Wed 20 Jan 2021 – Le Grand Mix, Tourcoing, France

Thu 21 Jan 2021 – La Maroquinerie, Paris, France

Fri 22 Jan 2021 – Le Lieu Unique, Nantes, France

Sat 23 Jan 2021 – Rockschool Barbey, Bordeaux, France

Mon 25 Jan 2021 – Dabadaba, Donostia, Spain

Tue 26 Jan 2021 – El Sol, Madrid, Spain

Wed 27 Jan 2021 – ZDB, Lisbon, Portugal

Fri 29 Jan 2021 – Laut, Barcelona Spain

Sat 30 Jan 2021 – Le Connexion, Toulouse France

Mon 01 Feb 2021 – Bogen F, Zurich, Switzerland

Tue 02 Feb 2021 – Circolo della Musica, Turin, Italy

Thu 04 Feb 2021 – Underdogs’, Prague, Czech Republic

Fri 05 Feb 2021 – Urban Spree, Berlin, Germany

Sun 07 Feb 2021 – Mejeriet, Lund, Sweden

Mon 08 Feb 2021 – Debaser (Bar Brooklyn), Stockholm, Sweden

Tue 09 Feb 2021 – Parkteatret, Oslo, Norway

Wed 10 Feb 2021 – Loppen, Copenhagen, Denmark

Thu 11 Feb 2021 – Hafenklang, Hamburg, Germany

Sat 13 Feb 2021 – Orange House, Munich, Germany

Sun 14 Feb 2021 – Rotondes, Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Mon 15 Feb 2021 – Bitterzoet, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Thu 18 Feb 2021 – Junction 1, Cambridge, United Kingdom

Fri 19 Feb 2021  – The Loft, Southampton, United Kingdom

Sat 20 Feb 2021 – Hare & Hounds, Birmingham, United Kingdom

Mon 22 Feb 2021 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds, United Kingdom *

Tue 23 Feb 2021 – Future Yard, Birkenhead, United Kingdom

Wed 24 Feb 2021 – Gorilla, Manchester, United Kingdom

Thu 25 Feb 2021 – Oran Mor, Glasgow, United Kingdom

Sat 27 Feb 2021 – Whelan’s, Dublin, Ireland

Mon 01 March 2021 – SWX, Bristol, United Kingdom

Tue 02 March 2021 – Chalk, Brighton, United Kingdom **

Wed 03 March 2021 – Electric Ballroom, London, United Kingdom

* = Rescheduled show (Sold Out)

** = Rescheduled show

You don't have permission to register