fbpx

News/Review: Check out Welcome To Hell – the firey new single from Black Midi

With seemingly no expiration of fresh blood in the bank, black midi return less than a year later, and they execute it taking no prisoners. Frontman Geordie Greep, doing his level best not to smash his guitar to smithereens, comes in ballsily with his now-signature dramatic tongue (of thorns), here more cinematic than ever; something no doubt soaked up watching Scorcese’s fatless character study movies (a sincere compliement). This is backed by an ever panoramic birds eye instrumental, whence Picton syncopates himself in a strummed and restless funk vice. Murky horns and keys orchestrate him whimsically, while Simpson’s contrasting loungey drums (somewhat reminiscent of peak era Can – deservedly louder in the mix than previously) shunt against the borders of Greep’s fireside story. It’s like a go kart filled with explosives ready to go off the beaten track at any moment, which it sure does do during it’s playful serpentine detours. The musical equivalant of burning all your crops with the secret knowledge that they will grow back more fertile.

This comes alongside the announcement of black midi’s third album ‘Hellfire‘, set for release this July 15th via Rough Trade Records. In its press release, frontman Geordie Greep explains the loose concept album further: ‘Almost everyone depicted is a kind of scumbag. Almost everything I write is from a true thing, something I experienced and exaggerated and wrote down. I don’t believe in Hell, but all that old world folly is great for songs, I’ve always loved movies and anything else with a depiction of Hell. Dante’s Inferno. When Homer goes to Hell in The Simpsons. There’s a robot Hell in Futurama. Isaac Bashevis Singer, a Jewish writer who portrays a Satan interfering in people’s lives. There’s loads!‘.

During November 2021, between playing gigs in the USA, black midi also recorded a live album with Steve Albini at his Electrical Audio Chicago studio, reworking songs from their catalogue so far. Six of these will be pressed on six flexi discs (one song each), which will be available in limited quantity when the new album is pre ordered from specific retailers.

Pre Order Hellfire here.

black midi Tour Dates:

Tue. May 10 – Grenoble, FR @ La Bobine

Wed. May 11 – Milan, IT @ Santeria

Thu. May 12 – Zurich, CH @ Mascotte

Sat. May 14 – Vienna, AT @ Flex

Sun. May 15 – Prague, CR @ Meetfactory

Mon. May 16 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg

Wed. May 18 – Lille, FR @ Aeronef

Tue. May 31 – Istanbul, TR @ Zorlu PSM Jazz Festival

Thu. Jun. 2 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound

Thu. Jun. 9 – Porto, PT @ Primavera Sound

Sat. Jun. 11 – Mannheim, DE @ Maifeld Derby

Sun. Jun. 12 – Hilvarenbeek, NE @ Best Kept Secret

Thu. Jun. 17 – Sun. Jun. 19 – Vilnius, LT @ 8 Festival

Sat. Jun. 25th -Somerset, UK @ Glastonbury West Holt Stage  

Wed. Jun. 29 – Sun. Jul. 3 – Budapest, HU @ Kolorado Festival

Thu. Jun. 30 – Bucharest, RO @ Club Control

Fri. Jul. 1 – Sun. Jul. 3 – Plovdiv, BG @ Wrong Fest

Thu. Jul. 7 – Sat. Jul. 9 – Trencin, SK @ Pohoda

Wed. Jul. 13 – London, UK @ Summer Series at Somerset House

Wed. Jul. 13 – Sun. Jul. 17 – Dour, BE @ Dour Festival

Fri. Jul. 15 –  Riga, LV @ Positivus Festival

Fri. Jul. 29 – Puglia, IT @ Sud Est Indipendente,

Fri. Aug. 12 –  Rees Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop

Wed. Aug. 17 –  Essen, DE @ Ruhrtriennale

Sun. Aug. 21 – Winterthur, CH @ Winterthurer Musikfestwochen 

Thu. Jul. 21 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club

Sat. Jul. 23 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes

Sun. Jul. 24 – New York, NY @ Central Park SummerStage

Thu. Sep. 1 – Sun. Sep. 4 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival

Thu. Sept. 1 – Sun. Sept. 4 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival

Sat. Oct. 3 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Psych Fest